A Taste of LA (171 Roces Ave Laging Handa, Quezon City)

Date visited: September 2013

What we ordered:

Pritchon Pugon and Barbecued Tuna Belly

Taste = 4/5

–          Pritchon is a combination of the words Prito (fried) and Lechon (suckling pig) while Pugon means wood-fire baked. What is usually done to Pritchon is they deep fry a whole suckling pig, cut it into bite-sized pieces then wrap in pita wedges. What I think they did here is they baked pork parts then served in into pita wedges. Why they even bothered to put the word Prtichon there is a mystery to me. Anyway, the pork meat was tender and succulent while the square bits of crispy pork skin were salty and very good. It had some veggies in it and the sauce tasted like Peking duck sauce. Everything complimented everything. The downside was the very small serving size. The Tuna Belly was ok and the sauce was thick and was salty and sweet. I detected a faint fishy aftertaste with the tuna which somewhat ruined it for me. Lyn said it was ok for her. The serving size was much better for this dish.

Service = 2/5

–          There were two to three servers in our area that were responsible for six tables. Only 4 tables were occupied at the time we arrived so we assumed we would get great service. Well, I was close to screaming at the two servers just to get their attention for our initial orders. Too bad for me, I was too hungry and too weak to transfer to a different restaurant. To add more insult to injury, the food was served at different times and took too long to cook. One time we wanted water, we made contact with one of the servers and he nodded and smiled but we got our water after 14min. It really made me feel bad when I saw that there was a service charge on our bill. I would’ve wanted to rate them lower but I’m reserving lower scores for explicitly rude service.

Ambience = 4.5/5

–          The restaurant has about 4 areas: a bar/lounge, a smoking area and two non-smoking dining areas. We were seated in the smaller non-smoking dining area and the mood was intimate. The lights were dim, the room was quiet and customers could cuddle in some of the seats.

Value for money = 2.5/5

–          This restaurant has been a landmark in the Tomas Morato area for as long as I can remember. I don’t know if we just caught them on their bad day but they have to improve on two things ASAP: serving size and service. But I’m not really keen on checking if they have improved in the future.

I couldn’t find a website or Facebook page for this restaurant, Sorry.

8 thoughts on “A Taste of LA (171 Roces Ave Laging Handa, Quezon City)

  1. lmjapan says:

    That is too bad about the service and how you were too weak and hungry to go elsewhere. I’ve had a number of experiences like that myself, once my blood sugar drops I can’t move anymore and no matter how bad the restaurant is, I’m stuck. But it sounds like the Pritchon Pugon made up for it, salty crispy pork skin is the best.

    • rey & lyn says:

      Yes, good salty crispy pork skin solves all problems for me! But I guess we have to bring some crackers or chips with us all the time so we can have some energy to walk out from bad restaurants. 😉 Hehehe.

  2. doon po sa amin says:

    hullow, rey & lyn… i used to pass by this restau for so many years, but have not tried eating there. people say it’s ideal for group eating, daw… it used to be well-known. 🙂

      • doon po sa amin says:

        ahaha. oo, sabi, noong araw daw, tambayan yaan nina FPJ after ng shooting. anyway, may time kasing nag-opisina me sa E. Rod., medyo malapit dyan kaya parati jong nadadaanan. anyway, these days, marami nang bagong kainan na mas magaganda at masasarap – sa may malapit sa St. Luke’s, hehe. meron din dyan sa malapit sa Christ the King, medyo mga tago lang. hanapin nyo, hehe. waving… 🙂

  3. Liz says:

    Omg deep fry a whole suckling pig…I eat meat but sometimes I cringe when I think of a little suckling being deep fried in a pot. Poor pig. However I am sure the meat tastes very nice. If ever you serve it to me, please don’t tell me the source!

We want to hear from you

