ClawDaddy’s Great American Picnic (Upper Ground Level, Robinsons Magnolia)

PhotoGrid_1376065576571Date visited: August 2013

What we ordered:

Ribs and Crabs buffet and Baltimore Fish and Chips

 

Taste = 4/5

–          For a limited period, this branch had a weekend buffet of ribs and crab. Knowing that this is part of the Red Crab group, I didn’t let this buffet pass. There were other dishes there but I was really focused on the crabs. The crabs were cooked Szechuan style and in garlic and butter. The quality of the sweet crab meat were superior to most restaurants but not really as good as the crab dishes in the main Red Crab restaurant, which I expected since it was just a buffet. The Szechuan style was also a little bland but the garlic and butter flavour was really good. I dipped the garlic and butter flavoured crab meat in vinegar and the result was indescribably good. I ate the yummy crabs for almost 2 hours. The ribs, some served fried while some were grilled, were on the tough side and even if they were served with no sauce, they tasted good by themselves. Lyn didn’t think she could maximize the buffet at that time so she had Fish and Chips. She said the fish tasted like your usual battered fish fillet but on the plus side, the serving was large.

 

Service = 4.5/5

–          There were a lot of staff on the dining area and most of them provided good service while a few looked like they were just waiting for closing time.

 

Ambience = 4.5/5

–          The dining area was not that large and when they added a buffet table, it got even smaller. I don’t know if they planned it but the flow of people going to the buffet didn’t cause much disorder. It was actually a pleasant experience for us.

 

Value for money = 4/5

–          The price of the buffet was very reasonable but the other items on the menu were on the expensive side. I hope they would do the buffet again.

Click here for their Facebook page.

7 thoughts on “ClawDaddy’s Great American Picnic (Upper Ground Level, Robinsons Magnolia)

  1. lmjapan says:

    All you can eat garlic and butter crab sounds scrumptious! I would be all over that if they had a place like that here. There is one crab buffet place but it’s just plain steamed crab legs that you dip in butter. I love Chinese stir-fried crab the best!

    • rey & lyn says:

      I completely agree! The Szechuan style crab is my favorite. The taste is just so yummy! I think if they repeated the buffet they probably wouldn’t let me in because I ate so much crabs! Have you tried dipping crabmeat in vinegar?

      • lmjapan says:

        If Szechuan style crab is with butter and garlic then I don’t think I’ve ever had it that way before. I’ve had it stir-fried with garlic but not also with butter. Sounds beyond decadent, I’d love to try it! Sounds like you love crabs just as me, maybe even more! I’ve never tried dipping crabmeat into vinegar. Is is just straight vinegar or do you add anything else to it?

      • rey & lyn says:

        Szechuan style just a bit more complex. I think this link is pretty representative on how we cook Szechuan style crabs.

        http://panlasangpinoy.com/2009/09/21/spicy-asian-food-chili-crab-dish-recipe/

        With vinegar, most Filipinos eat steamed crab with plain white sugar cane vinegar. Some put raw crushed garlic but we prefer plain vinegar. Since you haven’t tried it, I don’t recommend you should because it may be too sour for you! hehehe.

        I love crabs. I think it’s the only food that can’t make me feel full no matter how many I’ve eaten. 🙂

      • lmjapan says:

        Mmm, the Szechuan style sounds good! Thanks for the link with the recipe. I’m not much of a cook but I’ll pass it on to my sister-in-law (who’s Chinese) and hopefully she’ll make it and invite us over lol!

        I don’t think I’ve ever dipped anything straight into vinegar before so yes, I would probably proceed with caution! I do make a dipping sauce for gyozas with vinegar and soy sauce, and chili sauce and I really enjoy the sour taste of the vinegar in that.

    • rey & lyn says:

      It was one of the restaurants we’ve visited a few times but unfortunately, they closed this branch already. It was a nice place to eat though. Garlic an butter really makes food a lot better! hehehe. 🙂

We want to hear from you

