Elar’s Lechon (151 Quezon Ave. cor Speaker Perez St. Doña Imelda, Quezon City)

PhotoGrid_1376064954192Date visited: July 2013

What we ordered:

¼ Lechon and Adobong Baka

 

Taste = 5/5

–          Lechon is suckling pig and Adobong Baka is beef in vinegar and soy sauce. For me, Elar’s (not to be confused with Elarz) makes the best roasted lechon. I’ve tasted lechon that cost five times more but the taste and quality wasn’t even close to Elar’s. The perfectly orange skin was super crispy and the thin fat layer underneath it gave a very good contrast in texture. The pork meat was almost melt-in-your-mouth and really asserted its premium quality. The Lechon sauce was sweet, a little peppery and livery – just excellent. When I put crispy skin, pork meat, sauce and rice on one mouthful, I went to heaven and cried a little. Lyn doesn’t really eat much pork so she ordered the Adobong Baka. It was on the tough side but the sauce was on the salty side and was good.

 

Service = 4.5/5

–          It was a self-service set-up but there were lots of attendants who helped us with our trays, drinks and utensils.

 

Ambience = 3.5/5

–          The place looked more like a cafeteria than a restaurant. It was quite apparent that they had low-cost utensils but it just made us focus more on deliciousness of their Lechon.

 

Value for money = 5/5

–          Even if we were talking about just the Lechon, the prices they charged were very reasonable. The dishes were just priced right but what will make me come back here again and again is definitely their Lechon.

Click here for their Facebook page.

13 thoughts on “Elar’s Lechon (151 Quezon Ave. cor Speaker Perez St. Doña Imelda, Quezon City)

  1. fingknitcoolgal says:

    I love hog roast! Your feast looks really good. There used to be a stall in the Spitalfield Market on Sunday, which sold roast hog on site. However, they are no longer there and I miss their sandwich very much. Your pic really has started my craving for it… 😍

    • rey & lyn says:

      I hope you get to eat good Filipino lechon. I try different varieties as much as I can and this restaurant, in my opinion, serves the best in the Philippines! (so far)

      I hope you get to satisfy your craving soon. Good roast pork is so addicting!

  2. theweekendbackpacker says:

    have you tried jun & jun’s? i think they have a branch in The Fort 🙂 good lechon too. with or without the sauce 😀

  3. lmjapan says:

    Lechon! Ever since I saw the episode of No Reservations where Anthony Bourdain went to the Philippines I’ve wanted to eat this dish! Especially the skin, it looks so crispy and delicious with the little layer of greasy fat under it. I’ve had roast pork from Chinese and Vietnamese restaurants but I know it’s not the same thing. I wish we had a restaurant like Elar’s over here!

    • rey & lyn says:

      I watched that episode 3 times! And i can still remember the crunch when the knife first went through the skin of the freshly-roasted pig.

      I think the closest flavor to the Filipino lechon would be the Spanish roasted suckling pig. But I hope there would be a food fair near your area that features Filipino food so you can get to try it! Good lechon is sooooo addicting!

  4. CarenLou says:

    Elars is the best lechon in Manila that l know as well, sadly no lechon is available here in SG even Pinoy Hawkers doesn’t have it here…. Can’t wait to be home and eat this…

    Thank You for the good tummy post 🙂

  5. Liz says:

    Thank you for explaining the difficult words. suckling pig and beef in vinegar, sounds delicious although I’m not sure I could eat the poor suckling….

    • rey & lyn says:

      You’re welcome. If ever you get a chance to eat roasted suckling pig, get the nape part. It’s the best part! Hehehe. A bit of warning though, you might get addicted to suckling pig. 🙂

We want to hear from you

