Suka at Sili (158 D Tuazon Ave, Sto. Domingo, Quezon City)

PhotoGrid_1376063779108Date visited: July 2013

What we ordered:

Sisig and Chicken Barbeque

Taste = 4/5

–          We were travelling South from Manila and we were looking for a place to have lunch when we happened to see this restaurant. Suka means vinegar and Sili means chilli pepper. We both like vinegar in our food so we took a chance and went to this restaurant. The sisig was nice but it was mostly pork cheek fat and only had a little cartilage. It was on the spicy side but when I added soy sauce, it tasted much better for me. Lyn said the Chicken Barbecue tasted good and was tender but there was no taste that distinguished it from the others. What was special was the side: ripe mangoes with bagoong (fermented shrimp paste), onions and eggplant. The taste was a blend of sweet, fishy, fruity and a little spicy – really good. Both dishes were served with cut onions, tomatoes and kalamansi, which we mixed in our individual ratio of soy sauce and vinegar. We didn’t detect any extraordinary taste from their vinegar but it tasted a little better than the commercially sold ones.

Service = 3/5

–          It sometimes felt as if we were begging for service with one of the waiters. The other server provided good service.

Ambience = 3/5

–          The place was clean but it was a little dim even though we were in the restaurant during the middle of the day. It didn’t really feel like they wanted customers at that time.

Value for money = 4.5/5

–          The prices were pretty fair considering the taste and serving size of their food. I truly hope they could improve their service and ambience.

10 thoughts on “Suka at Sili (158 D Tuazon Ave, Sto. Domingo, Quezon City)

  1. lmjapan says:

    The mangoes with bagoong sounds so interesting. I don’t think I’ve ever had fermented shrimp paste before….is it also used in Chinese dishes? I love how I always learn about new foods from reading your posts!

    • rey & lyn says:

      One of our favorite appetizers is unripe/green mangoes with bagoong. The combination of either ripe or unripe mangoes with bagoong is always good. There is even a green mango sorbet with warm bagoong topping! Yum! I hope someday you can try it. 🙂

      I can’t really think of a Chinese dish with shrimp paste but I’m pretty sure some Chinese dishes have it as an ingredient. Southeast Asian countries would definitely have it as a dipping sauce or even an ingredient in a lot of their dishes.

      I’m glad to be of service! I also learn a lot about Japan (and other places) from reading your blog! 😀

      • lmjapan says:

        I’ve never eaten a green mango in its fresh state, is it very sour? I’ve only had it in boba drinks. It’s pretty sour but really good! Green mango sorbet sounds delicious as well. Mango, in general, is not that popular of a fruit in the US, so unfortunately I don’t see it in desserts as much as I’d like.

        I was talking to my Vietnamese friend about shrimp paste and he says his mother uses it in some dishes. Since I eat at his house sometimes I’ve definitely had it. But I don’t think I’ve ever had it in its raw form. I’ll have to ask to try it sometime.

      • rey & lyn says:

        It’s not very sour… its extremely sour! I think the closest description after eating the green mango sorbet is like having “cotton mouth”. The good part is the shrimp paste that we had was very salty and sweet which complimented the sour taste very well.

        If you’ve had Vietnamese dishes then you definitely had tasted shrimp paste. I think the Filipino shrimp paste is sweeter than the other Southeast Asian varieties but what is common among them is that they are all deliciously salty and fishy.

  2. Liz says:

    Suka means vinegar and Sill means pepper? At least I’ve learnt two new words. Mango with shrimp paste… mmm that’s a new one to me. I wonder what it tastes like! Bad service promptly turns me off. Why would you open a restaurant if serving people is not your priority? It sounds like an average restaurant, Thanks for sharing!

    • rey & lyn says:

      Liking mango with shrimp paste is an acquired taste. If ever you will try it, get only a very small portion because you might not like it. Hehehe. Totally agree with you regarding bad service.

We want to hear from you

