Sunrise Buckets (Unit 1 Madison Square, Madison St, Greenhills, San Juan)

PhotoGrid_1373818729493Date visited: July 2013

What we ordered:

Black Peppered Chicken Wings (Wipeout)

 

Taste = 5/5

–          This place serves our favourite chicken wings! Who wouldn’t love those very deliciously-spiced, very tender, and juicy chicken wings served with a sour-cream-based dip? We’ve tried several of their flavours already but the taste of liquid butter combined with the salty, sweet and very peppery coating on the crispy chicken skin always discourages us to try other flavours. Combined with rice on every bite … heaven!

 

Service = 4.5/5

–          It was a semi self-service restaurant but when asked, the waitresses granted our requests. Most of the time, they were friendly and attentive.

 

Ambience = 4.5/5

–          We have been to this particular branch several times already and they continuously improve their dining area. Large surfboards, various pictures, a message board and a relaxed vibe are probably what give this place its unique appeal.

 

Value for money = 4.5/5

–          Their prices are probably the highest for chicken wings but we think that the high quality and taste of their wings makes them worth every peso.

Click here for their website.

8 thoughts on “Sunrise Buckets (Unit 1 Madison Square, Madison St, Greenhills, San Juan)

  1. lmjapan says:

    Chicken wings with sour cream dip? Sounds even better than ranch dressing! Is this similar to the fried chicken at Jollibee’s? There’s a couple of Jollibees kind of close to me that I’ve always wanted to try. People tell me their spaghetti and fried chicken are really good!

    • rey & lyn says:

      Their wings are very different compared with Jollibee’s. The quality of the chicken wings as well as the prices here are much higher here than in Jollibee’s. But at least once a week, I eat Jolly Spaghetti and/or Chicken Joy from Jollibee because these dishes really capture the Filipino taste and they’re very affordable. I just don’t know for sure if the tastes of Jollibee’s spaghetti and chicken in the US are the same as those here in the Philippines. Some of my friends in the US say they are less sweet but at least the burgers taste similar. I hope you enjoy the sweet and spicy spaghetti and juicy fried chicken! FYI: The true sign that a spaghetti is cooked in the Filipino style is if there are diagonal slices of hotdog in it. But of course Jollibee has to cut them into smaller sizes. I would recommend you try the Champ burger too. The Aloha burger has been tried by Anthony Bourdain as well as a version of probably our unofficial national dessert, the halo-halo (various sweetened ingredients on top of shaved ice with milk and ice cream), and he liked them both!

      Also, I’m not really sure but I think only Jollibee has been able to beat McDonald’s in being the no. 1 fastfood chain in a country.

      • lmjapan says:

        I remember watching that episode of Anthony Bourdain at Jollibee’s! The halo-halo dessert looked so good as did the burger he was eating. But I’m more of a spaghetti person, hot dogs mixed in sounds awesome! I’m really glad to hear that Jollibee’s captures the Filipino taste even if the one in America might not be as authentic. I will let you know how it was as soon as I try it. It’s great to hear that Jollibee’s is doing better than McDonald’s over there. Does the McDonald’s in the Philippines have items that are only offered there? When I was in Japan, they had the shrimp burger which they do not have in the US. And in Hawaii they have saimin and spam and Portuguese sausage, I am so jealous!

      • rey & lyn says:

        Here in the Philippines, McDonald’s offers spaghetti with hotdogs!!!! They also offer rice meals with longganisa (local spicy and garlicky pork sausage) during breakfast that is served with vinegar as dipping sauce. I will wait for your article about Jollibee. I hope you will like their food! 🙂

      • lmjapan says:

        I never knew spaghetti with hot dogs was such a popular dish in the Philippines! It’s something I eat all the time but people tell me I’m weird lol! I guess it’s because meatballs or Italian sausage is a more common spaghetti topping in the US. Now I can tell people I’m getting my Filipino on! Do Filipinos also like to eat their spaghetti with rice like the Japanese do?

      • rey & lyn says:

        Only a few Filipinos eat spaghetti with rice. But I did when I was young. It was delicious and very filling! What a lot of us do is eat pancit canton with rice. It’s like Lo Mein or Chow Mein I think. I also sometimes eat instant ramen with rice. 🙂

We want to hear from you

